top of page



                - Lamentation for the death of his Mother, Barbara -

Poem by Janus Pannonius (1434-1472)

In  five movements:

I –      Quid querar?                                     Lento                                                     12´
II –     Tu vero nimium                                 Allegro (a modo di recitativo)             
III –   Convenit audito tristis                      Andante sostenuto                                12´
IV –   Cum subito                                         Allegro non troppo                               12´
V –     Ipse ego solenni                                 Adagio                                                   

For solo Baritone, Mixed Choir -SATB- and Orchestra

Text in Latin

Duration: approx. 46 minutes



2 flutes, piccolo, 2 oboes, 2 clarinets in B-flat, bass clarinet, 2 bassoons, contrabassoon
4 horns in F, 3 trumpets in C, 3 trombones, bass tuba
timpani + 2, harp, strings (12-10-8-8-4

Commissioned by the European Union - Europe House (2015)

(“This musical composition was created under the TÁMOP 4.2.1.D-15/1/KONV- 2015-0006.

The Innovation and Knowledge Center in Kőszeg, in the frame of the research network at the University of Pannonia.”)     Sponsored by the European Union and Hungary. Co-financed by the European Social Fund.


              Janus Pannonius (1434-1472)

Painting by Andrea Mantegna (ca. 1470)

bottom of page